Sports Shorts

The Howell United Ladybugs, a U15 girls soccer team that plays in the Monmouth-Ocean Soccer Association’s National 2 Division, are looking to add a few players to their roster for the spring season and next year. Because of injuries, the team is playing short-handed and is looking for players who want to play hard and have fun. There are limited Saturday practices. The team will be playing over Memorial Day in the Virginia Tournament. Interested players should contact Coach Bryan at

A pair of Freehold Township High School boys’ lacrosse players etched their names in the school’s record books. Attack wing Mike Rosenblum became the Pats’ all-time leading scorer when he notched his 75th career goal. Midfielder Zack Carroll became the school’s all-time leader in ground balls, bringing his total to 305. Both are seniors. Freehold Township is 3-1 through its first four games.

Caitlyn “Cay” Hennessy, a junior at the Peddie School, has gotten off to a great start in 2007, tossing a no-hitter in her second game of the season.

Hennessy, who lives in Freehold Township, opened her season with a three-hit, 9-0 win over Lawrenceville. She fanned 12 in the Mid-Atlantic Prep League game.

The junior followed that up with a no-hitter against East Brunswick in her next start. In that 6-0 win, she struck out 19. She also went 2-for-4 with a double and two runs scored. Hennessy was 16-0 last year in leading Peddie to the State Prep A championship and the Mid-Atlantic league title.

The Freehold Region Independent Ice Hockey team, the Raiders, won the JV League Championships at the Wall Sports Arena.

The Raiders, who field a varsity team that was highly successful in 2006-07, are made up of players from the six Freehold Regional High School District schools – Colts Neck, Freehold Borough, Freehold Township, Howell, Manalapan and Marlboro.

The Raider JV players are: Bobby Ellis (goalie), Jordan Black (defense), Adam Cohen (forward), Michael Friedman (forward), Adam Miller (forward), Blaze Parker (defense), Kyle Nilsen (forward), Nick Peras (forward), Jared Brown (forward), Jared Antman (forward), Chris Francia (defense), Paul Camarda (forward), John Cleary (defense), Darnell Millberry (forward), Oliwier Nowak (defense), Alex Paparo (defense), Eric Abowitz (goalie), Chase Delahanty (forward), Kevin Collins (forward) and Jonathan Weinstein (forward).