Bayshore announces nurse of year, award winners

Bayshore Community Hospital, Holmdel, has announced Carol Hundsrucker, RN, has been named the winner of the 2003 Nurse of the Year Award. Hundsrucker is nursing care coordinator for the endoscopy unit.

She was nominated by Jacqueline Earle, CNN nursing technician, and commented she never wanted to be anything other than a nurse. "I strongly urge anyone interested in this field to follow their instincts, follow their dream," said Hundsrucker.

The Keyport resident received her nursing degree at Mercy School of Nursing, Toledo, Ohio, and her bachelor of science in nursing degree at Richard Stockton College of New Jersey, Pomona. She began at Bayshore in 1982 as a surgical respiratory nurse in the intensive care unit, and shortly after became certified as a critical care nurse. She is a member of the American Association of Critical Care Nurses, the Society of Gastroenterology Nurses Association and Signa Theth Thu Society of Nursing.

Bayshore’s emergency department (ED) also recently presented its Distinguished Service Award to four individuals for extraordinary and continued support efforts above and beyond the normal call of duty to the emergency department. Joan Clune and Kenneth Krohe, emergency medical technicians (EMT) and longtime members of the Matawan and Keyport First Aid Squads, were honored for volunteering several hours responding to emergency calls. Clune is director of the Bayshore Area EMT training program, and Krohe chartered the cadet program for Keyport First Aid. Local first aid squads honored for ongoing dedication included Aberdeen, Hazlet, Holmdel, Keyport, Matawan, Middletown and South Aberdeen.

Raimonda Clark, COO and executive vice president of Bayshore Community Hospital, was recognized for her efforts in support of the ED, commitment to patients, and for providing excellence of quality care. Rhonda Krinsky, RN, the ED nurse educator, was honored for diligence in keeping the department highly informed of current patient care issues.

Star Awards were also presented to ED staff for customer service and teamwork. Silver Stars went to registered nurses Nicola Krot, Aida Mones and Leigh-Anne Tamburella; and Michael Marchetti, MD, and Dinesh Shah, MD. Gold Stars went to registered nurses Denise Horner, Marie Kalletta, Judith Melillo and Louis DeCesare, ANCC; Jennifer Forquignon, unit secretary; and Daniel Yu, MD. Platinum Stars went to registered nurses Jeanette O’Donnell and Belinda Pornel, Joseph Beyers, technician; and Amy Venti, patient representative. ED volunteer patient advocates Marilyn Famularo, Paul Guido, Shufen Hwang, Robert LaForge, Lynn Phillips, Carol Reina and Dorothy Rosenberger were also recognized.