Wall racing season opens

Freehold’s Chaz Okerson and Colts Neck’s Chris Kilbride jump started their bid for 2000 track championships at Wall Stadium on Saturday night by driving to opening night wins at the Wall Township one-third mile oval.

Okerson dominated the Pro Stock Division’s 25-lap feature. He steadily drove away from runner-up Kenny Reaves of Piscataway, who was nowhere in sight when Okerson took the checkered flag.

Charlie Kremer III of Toms River, Jim Vogt of Farmingdale and George Andretta of Neptune finished third through fifth.

To win the first 15-lap Truck Series main event, Kilbride had to hold off defending champion Tim Buckley.

Toms River’s Tim Arre signaled that he’ll be a force in the Modified Division following his win Saturday in the 30-lap headliner. Arre motored by early leader J.R. Helberg of Union on the fifth lap by taking the low groove on the banked oval. Once in the lead, he was never challenged.

Howell’s John Blewett III gave chase to Arre late in the race and finished second.

Opening night 2000 will long be remembered by Dan Kirchner of Millburn. He not only opened the season with a win in the 20-lap Street Stock Division, but for him it was his first win at Wall Stadium.

Howell’s Russ Cook and Farming-dale’s Craig Wallis, the defending champion, made Kirchner earn the win as they pressured him through the second half of the race. Kirchner held up under the pressure to get his well-earned first win.